Cervical Cancer Information [Infographics]



The uterine cervix is the last constricted part of the uterus (the hollow, pear-shaped organ that accommodates the growing fetus) that opens in the vagina. The uterine cervix is about 3 to 4 cm long cylinder-shape organ. The main function of the uterine cervix is the secretion of cervical mucosa that makes the uterine environment favorable for sperms to fertilize an ovum. The uterine cervix is lined with 2 types of epithelial cells: squamous epithelial cells (that cover the surface the interior part of the cervix near to uterus) and glandular epithelial cells (that cover the exterior part of the cervix, near the vagina). The junction of 2 types of cells is known as transformation zone, which is the most common site of cervical cancer.

Squamous cell carcinomas are the most commonly encountered (about 90% of all cases) cervical cancers. Adenocarcinoma is the less common type of cervical cancer. Most cervical cancers develop from precancerous lesions, for example, cervical intraepithelial neoplasia (CIN) or adenocarcinoma in situ. These pre-cancerous changes can develop into invasive cervical cancer by a slow process. However, in some cases, the process can be faster.

Cervical Cancer Infographics


FIGO Stage I and II

figo stage 1 and 2


FIGO Stage III and IV

figo stage 3 and 4



Treatment of Localised and Locally Advanced Cervical Cancer

localised and locally advanced disease treatment


Treatment of Metastatic Cervical Cancer

metastatic disease treatment



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here